chicken with olives

Now that I have all kinds of time on my hands, I’ve been going through my collection of cookbooks and trying new recipes. I found this one in Mediterranean Cooking by Paula Wolfert. It was extremely pungent and the house will probably smell like this dish for a week!

The name of this dish is Djej Bil Zeetoon or chicken with olives, Tangier/Moroccan style

2 1/2 to 3 pounds chicken pieces (I used leg quarters)
4 cloves garlic, crushed
Salt (although don’t overdo this cause there is salt in the olives)
1/2 olive oil
1 1/2 cups chopped onions
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 ripe tomatoes (I used a can of Rotels)
Coriander & Parsley (recipe calls for fresh, I used 1 teaspoon each dried)
1 preserved lemon diced (lemons in salt brine, skin and all)
1 cup green Spanish olives (sliced in half)

Salt & pepper chicken, then brown in oil. Add chopped onions and stir 5 minutes. Add salt, pepper, ginger and turmeric & stir over medium heat for 5 minutes. Add tomatoes & 1/2 cup water and cook until liquid reduces, 10 minutes. Add rest of herbs, another cup water, stir then bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer 45 minutes. Uncover for last 15 minutes, add olives and lemon and cook until liquid is reduced. Serve with whatever you like – rice, quinoa, pita, etc.

~ by maringouin on Sunday, February 13, 2011.

 
