watermelon

I’d been looking for the watermelon man for weeks, having had an intense craving for the watery fruit for awhile. I’ve passed a truck here and there a couple times already but having insufficient funds at that moment I had to pass them by.

Well today I pulled over near the corner of Elysian Fields and Gentilly Blvd. right in front of the cemetery. There were two men hanging out under the shade and the purveyor of the melons had an old pair of overalls on: not sure, but perhaps he was the grower of the melons. He walked over to his black truck, and there must have been 50 or more melons piled in the bed. I can just imagine the truck groaning under the weight of the melons as it puttered along the street.

There appeared to be 2 different species of melons, so I asked him which one was better. He kept putting his hand on one rather large specimen so I told him I’d take that one. I got it home and it took me over an hour to break it down and get rid of most of the seeds. For a mere $7.00, we now have fruit for the next week, and I shared a couple of gallon bags of watermelon with my elderly neighbors. I think I’ll have a bowl of watermelon, sprinkled with salt, right now.

~ by maringouin on Wednesday, July 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “watermelon”

  1. I’ve gotta check this out. I’m especially looking for Grand Bay melons. Ymmm

  2. He was parked right in front of the Jewish cemetery, 1/2 a block from the taqueria truck on Elysian Fields. The watermelon was good, not real sweet, but fresh.

Comments are closed.

 
