in the spirit of Bastille Day

A recent post by WST shines a light on the outcome of Louisiana HB 715.

The three page .pdf can be downloaded here.

PBJ signed into law a blatant rejection of the Real ID act. I totally concur, keep the Real ID act from penetrating the lives of citizens and maintain the integrity of states to decide for themselves what is best, without the Homeland Security goons breathing down our necks…

…although I wouldn’t call this a goon so much as a chicken neck

The Legislature of Louisiana does hereby direct the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, including the office of motor vehicles, not to implement the provisions of the REAL ID Act and to report to the governor any attempt by agencies or agents of the United States Department of Homeland Security to secure the implementation of the REAL ID Act through the operations of that division and department.

Thanks for preserving some semblance of our privacy and civil liberties.

~ by maringouin on Monday, July 14, 2008.

3 Responses to “in the spirit of Bastille Day”

  1. Amen! I firmly believe if everyone knew all of the details about how this will affect their lives, they would be outraged and send a strong message in every state: NO REAL ID! Give me freedom or give me death! The Real ID would strip all American citizens of their freedom and right to privacy. All Americans should write letters of praise and support to their state reps when they choose not to comply!

  2. I couldn’t find an email address for you, so I hope you don’t mind that I am leaving a comment. I work with the online community team for Travel Channel and just wanted to let you know that New Orleans is being featured in the Samantha Brown show airing tomorrow at 9pm CST.

    Let me know if you want more information about the show!

    Regards,
    Wendy Ricci
    Room 214, Inc. on behalf of Travel Channel

  3. I’ll put up a post about it Wendy – thanks

Comments are closed.

 
