chapter 16 – maybe its official, now can I take a deep breath?

OK look, I don’t want to jinx the Citizens-Allstate-wind-hail-insurance coverage, but it seems like Allstate has officially reinstated me and Citizens has canceled my policy – however Citizens has yet to cough up my refund.

So the grand total for fixing all this mess follows:

Citizens – Annual wind/hail policy with no replacement value, on a relatively small cottage type home came to ~$2568. Initial payment for the policy in February was $428 for a 2 month payment. Amount of refund due to me, after policy was canceled THREE WEEKS LATER was $267. So Citizens pocketed $161, minus the new policy fee of ~$60

Allstate – Annual wind/hail policy reinstated, with replacement value, plus a whopping %5 hurricane deductible icing on the cake comes to a grand total of ~$1120 per year. This amounts to a savings over Citizens of ~$1448 per year. I’ll take it. I paid off that policy as soon as possible so’s not to tempt fate.

Headaches, nausea, burning in the pit of my stomach, crying jags upon notification of being dropped, time and energy spent fighting this shit – fucking priceless. All made possible by a kind Allstate agent, the only light in the insurance darkness – thank you again, you know who you are. I only wish my thank you note and gift card for coffee could begin to express my gratitude to you. And a huge thanks to the Louisiana Insurance Commission for being the pit bull that wrangled this deal. A state agency that really did work.

So no ending, no epilogue, don’t want to put any curse on this, I think I am going to offer up a novena instead…

Most holy apostle, Saint Jude, faithful servant and friend of Jesus, the Church honors and invokes you universally, as the patron of hopeless cases, of things almost despaired of. Pray for me, I am so helpless and alone. Make use I implore you, of that particular privilege given to you, to bring visible and speedy help where help is almost despaired of. Come to my assistance in this great need that I may receive the consolation and help of heaven in all my necessities, tribulations, and sufferings, particularly – (Here make your request) and that I may praise God with you and all the elect forever. I promise, O blessed Saint Jude, to be ever mindful of this great favor, to always honor you as my special and powerful patron, and to gratefully encourage devotion to you.
Amen.

~ by maringouin on Friday, April 4, 2008.

 
