celebration in the oaks

Last night C and his child and I went to City Park. Shameful enough, I have never been to the holiday light exhibit in the park. We got there around 5:30 and the lines were long and there were tons of kids there. By the time I got inside, I was experiencing waves of nausea cause the lady in front of me reeked of mothballs.

Once inside the crowds dispersed. As we walked around enjoying the lights I realized how cool of an exhibit this is. I got past the constant barrage of wailing kids and the self-absorbed mothers blocking all paths of walking with their baby strollers and saw the exhibit for what it is – a celebration of the holidays and a revenue generator for the park. Of course the 75 degree weather didn’t help keep the crowds away either, I swore to C that if I ever go back it will be 40 degrees and frigid so we can have the place to ourselves.

The one experience that lingered was the Cajun Night Before Christmas display. I think I had an epiphany of sorts. With all the global warming warnings of late, magnifying the constant worry of New Orleans going underwater and where to go if that happens in my lifetime, I made a determination last night to head to the closest facsimile of where french culture is located – well north of I-10, somewhere deep in Evangeline or St. Landry Parish – far far away from water. Eased my mind considerably.

~ by maringouin on Monday, December 10, 2007.

 
