A major reason New Orleans is crumbling

Mother 44 years old, gives gun to 17 year old son to avenge a fight, then son kills man he fought

Herein lies the crux of what is wrong today in New Orleans. Obviously the culture of revenge is alive and well in this city, and here is proof positive – this article appeared on the front page of the Times Picayune this morning.

So what can be done to change this? All the policing, legal wrangling, school interventions, social policy, handouts to the poor will NEVER change the culture of revenge. Law enforcement and the legal system can point all the fingers they want, it all boils down to what a child is taught in THEIR HOME and what morals or lack thereof are passed on by the parent(s). Would YOU give YOUR CHILD a gun to take out revenge on someone they were involved in a fight with? I wonder how long it will be before someone starts screaming civil rights, and the two of them are back out on the street? Well fuck that, MY FUCKING CIVIL RIGHTS are being trampled on cause I do not feel safe living in the city I was born and nobody is doing a goddamn thing to wrestle control over the violence.

Until this cultural defect is resolved, New Orleans will never resurrect – I so desperately want to remain positive, I love my hometown, but I have my doubts, cultural inertia and plain fucking ignorance is just too prevalent here….

~ by maringouin on Friday, February 9, 2007.

 
