Fried Onion Rings

Since I’ve been craving onion rings so bad for awhile, and I finally got to a place yesterday to have some, and they sucked – I was very disappointed. So I dug this old recipe out that my mom had and wanna make it soon to wipe away any memory of that hideous order I had yesterday 😦

Onion Rings
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ cups flat beer, cold or at room temperature
3 very large onions
3-4 cups shortening
Combine flour and beer in large bowl and mix thoroughly. Cover the bowl and let sit at room temperature for at least 3 hours. Cut onions into ¼ inch slices and separate into rings. Melt shortening in skillet up to 2 inches in pan. Dip onion rings into batter and drop into hot shortening and fry until golden brown. Remove and set aside in warm oven until rests of rings are fried and ready to serve.

~ by maringouin on Tuesday, November 21, 2006.

 
